CCC (China Compulsory Certification)

CCC is the abbreviation for China Compulsory Certification scheme which requires manufacturers to obtain approval for their products before they can be legally marketed in China. CCC was implemented on May 1, 2002 and became fully effective on August 1, 2003. CCC contains safety and EMC parts for most electrical products and only safety for automotive parts.

The CCC mark is required for both Chinese manufactured and foreign imported products. There are 20 product types in the current CCC category including:

  • Electrical wires and cables
  • Switches for circuits, Installation protective and connection devices
  • Low-voltage Electrical Apparatus
  • Small Power motors
  • Electric tools
  • Welding machines
  • Household and similar electrical appliances
  • Audio and video apparatus (AV)
  • Information technology equipment (ITE)
  • Lighting apparatus
  • Telecommunication terminal equipment (TTE)
  • Motor vehicles and Safety parts
  • Motor vehicle tires
  • Safety Glasses
  • Agricultural Machinery
  • Fire Fighting Equipment
  • Detectors for Intruder Alarm Systems
  • Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) systems
  • Decoration products
  • Children’s products

General CCC certification process include type testing, factory inspection and follow up inspection. 

Factory inspection is required for CCC certification to ensure the product consistency and quality control program.  Factory inspections are carried out by the certification body. The certification process usually takes between 4–8 weeks not including an initial factory inspection.  Initial Factory inspections are required for factories producing CCC products for the first time.  Generally initial factory inspections are scheduled in batches, so auditors form China can audit multiple factories in one visit.